Wednesday, 4 February 2015

February 18 Webcast with ACM Fellow Bertrand Meyer: "Agile Methods: The Good, the Hype and the Ugly"

Register TODAY for the next free ACM Learning Webinar, "Agile Methods: The Good, the Hype and the Ugly," presented on Wednesday, February 18, 2015 at 1pm ET (12pm CT/11 am MT/10 am PT/6 pm GMT) by Bertrand Meyer, Professor of Software Engineering at ETH Zurich and an ACM Fellow for his contributions to software engineering and programming languages. The talk will be followed by a live question and answer session.

(If you'd like to attend but can't make it to the virtual event, you still need to register to receive a recording of the webinar when it becomes available.)

Note: You can stream this and all ACM Learning Webinars on your mobile device, including smartphones and tablets.

If you are attracted by agile methods but put off by the grandiose claims, you are not alone. Agile ideas are a curious mix of the best and the worst: brilliant insights that have already changed the way we think about software (the good), along with principles that are guaranteed to damage your projects (the ugly), plus some indifferent practices (the hype) that do not deserve the fuss. Unfortunately, most agile presentations are pure propaganda; they ask you to kneel down and start singing the hymn.

This webcast is different: it takes an objective look at agile methods, explains the essentials, and helps you sort the wheat from the chaff. It presents agile methods in the broader perspective of software engineering methods and tools, showing how they complement, rather than contradict, the best practices in the field. It also warns you against exaggerated claims, enabling you to retain the truly unique agile contributions and make your projects agile in the best sense of the term.

Duration: 60 minutes (including audience Q&A)

Presenter: Bertrand Meyer, Professor of Software Engineering, ETH Zurich; ACM Fellow
Bertrand Meyer is a pioneer of object technology and the author of several best-sellers in software engineering, programming methodology and programming languages. He is known as the creator of Design by Contract and of the Eiffel language. A professor of software engineering at ETH Zurich, he is also active as a consultant and speaker, and has made major contributions to the fields of software verification and concurrent programming.

Click here to register for this free webinar:
https://event.on24.com/eventRegistration/EventLobbyServlet?target=reg20.jsp&eventid=937091&sessionid=1&key=5B3C11566E06BE6564E638C6DFE0F413&sourcepage=register

No comments:

Post a Comment